♦ REGISTRY: 15 RECORDS   ♦ FAILURES DOCUMENTED: 5   ♦ RUBRIC v1.0   ♦ LAST VERIFICATION 2026-08-16
C4P-WTR-0002WATER · Csb · ARCATA, US

Municipal wastewater treatment through oxidation ponds and constructed wetlands (Arcata Marsh), California: four decades of operation at council scale

STATUS
● operating
TRANSFERABILITY
T2 ████████░░░░ 8/12
EVIDENCE
E3 operator-reported · data published
CAPITAL
USD 5.3M (1985)
OPERATING
not published
COMMENCED
1979 · MEASURED 1979-2025
POLITICAL TEST
survived four decades; council re-chose the wetland system under enforcement pressure
VERIFIED
· REVIEW DUE 2027-02-13
01

The intervention

TIMELINE

1979198419891994199920042009201420192024COMMENCEDCOMPLETED

WHAT WAS DEPLOYED

Arcata, a city of about 18,700 people on Humboldt Bay in northern California, treats its municipal wastewater through primary clarifiers, two oxidation ponds of 22.4 and 17.3 acres, six treatment wetland cells, and three open-water enhancement marshes that form part of the Arcata Marsh and Wildlife Sanctuary [1][3]. In 1974 California prohibited municipal discharge to enclosed bays and estuaries "unless the discharge enhances the quality of the receiving water", and a regional treatment plant on the Samoa Peninsula, designed by Metcalf and Eddy and estimated at US$25 million, was the recommended response [2][3]. Arcata declined to join, formed a task force to research natural treatment alternatives [1], ran a state-funded pilot of 12 wetland cells from 1979 to 1982 [1], won the exemption through State Water Board Order 79-20 (1979) and Regional Water Board Resolution 83-9 (1983) [3], and completed the full-scale system in 1986 for US$5.3 million in 1985 dollars [1], against a share of the regional plant put at about US$10 million by the public works director of the era [2]. Long-term staged averages compiled by the 1997 EPA site visit: BOD 174 mg/L raw, 53 mg/L after the ponds, 28 mg/L after the treatment wetlands, 3.3 mg/L after the enhancement marshes; TSS 214 falling to 3 mg/L; total nitrogen 40 falling to 3 mg/L [1]. The treatment wetlands met the weekly 30 mg/L BOD and TSS limits 90% of the time, and the enhancement marshes met 5 mg/L 90% of the time [1]. The compliance record under tightening standards is documented with equal weight: 115 effluent limitation violations from August 2012 to September 2018, led by the chlorine disinfection byproduct dichlorobromomethane (39 of 115) [3], and 149 violations from February 2020 to June 2025, most listed against total cyanide limits of 0.43 to 1 microgram per litre and TCDD-equivalents limits measured in picograms per litre, resolved in November 2025 by a stipulated penalty of US$447,000 [4]. One BOD excursion in April 2025 reached a weekly average of 310 mg/L against a 45 mg/L limit [4]. The city's response was a US$67 million Phase 1 rebuild (2020-2025) that replaced aging equipment, reconfigured flow to a single path, and replaced chlorine with ultraviolet disinfection, online January 30, 2024, while retaining the pond and wetland treatment train [4][5][6].

HOW IT WORKS

Physical: screened and clarified wastewater flows to two facultative oxidation ponds (22.4 and 17.3 acres), then through a series of treatment wetland cells planted with hardstem bulrush; detention through ponds and wetlands is about 39 days at the 2.3 mgd average dry weather design flow [3]. At the 1997 EPA site visit the treatment wetlands were three parallel cells totalling about 7.5 acres with a nominal hydraulic residence of about 3 days; treatment there is settling, microbial degradation and plant uptake sized for BOD and TSS removal [1]. Disinfected effluent then passes through three enhancement marshes (Allen, Gearheart and Hauser, about 31 acres, roughly 9 days retention) where most nitrogen is removed, through nitrification in open water zones and denitrification in vegetated zones, before final discharge to Humboldt Bay [1][3]. Since January 2024 disinfection is by ultraviolet light rather than chlorine, and effluent passes to the sanctuary and onward to a brackish marsh discharge point [4]. Primary solids go to two anaerobic digesters, drying beds and composting [3]. Administrative: the city owns and operates the whole system under NPDES permit CA0022713 [3]; the enhancement marshes are open to the public as a wildlife sanctuary, and their habitat and recreation value is the legal basis for the bay discharge under the state enhancement exemption [1][3]. Operations are funded by a surcharge on consumer water bills [1].

02

The measurements

10 OUTCOMES

OUTCOMES

METRICVALUEMETHODMEASURED BYINDEPENDENTPERIODSRC
Long-term average effluent BOD after treatment wetlands28 mg/L (raw influent 174, oxidation pond effluent 53) · baseline 53 (pond effluent) (same long-term record)Long-term operator monitoring compiled in the EPA 1997 site-visit case study, Table 8-2City of Arcata monitoring, compiled by US EPA○operation through 1997; exact period not stated[1]
Long-term average effluent after enhancement marshes3.3 mg/L BOD (TSS 3 mg/L) · baseline 28 BOD / 21 TSS (treatment wetland effluent) (same long-term record)Same compilation, Table 8-2City of Arcata monitoring, compiled by US EPA○operation through 1997; exact period not stated[1]
Total nitrogen, raw influent to enhancement marsh effluent3 mg/L (from 40 mg/L raw) · baseline 40 (raw influent, same record)Same compilation, Table 8-2City of Arcata monitoring, compiled by US EPA○operation through 1997; exact period not stated[1]
Treatment wetlands (7.5 acres, nominal 3-day residence) meeting weekly 30 mg/L BOD and TSS limits90 % of the timeCompliance record summarized in the EPA case-study lessons-learned sectionCity of Arcata monitoring, summarized by US EPA○operation through 1997[1]
Enhancement wetlands (28 acres, nominal 11-day residence) meeting weekly limits below 5 mg/L BOD and TSS90 % of the timeSame summaryCity of Arcata monitoring, summarized by US EPA○operation through 1997[1]
Pilot cell effluent BOD across 12 wetland cells9.0-15.3 mg/L (TSS 4.0-9.4 mg/L; influent BOD 26, TSS 37 from pond effluent) · baseline 26 BOD / 37 TSS (pond effluent) (pilot period)Two-phase pilot program, 12 cells of 20 by 200 ft at varied loadings and depthsHumboldt State University team (system designers), funded by the State Water Board○1979-1982[1]
Highest average monthly effluent BOD during the 2012 permit term32 mg/L against a 30 mg/L limit (TSS 37.6 against 30; minimum observed monthly removal BOD 74%, TSS 75.2%, against 85%) · baseline 30 (permit limit) (permit term)Self-monitoring reports summarized in the renewal permit fact sheet, Table F-2; the table publishes worst-case values onlyCity self-monitoring, compiled by the North Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board○August 2012 - January 2017[3]
Effluent limitation violations, 2012 permit term115 violations, August 1 2012 - September 30 2018 (dichlorobromomethane 39, copper 25, TSS concentration 10, TSS mass 10, cyanide 6, BOD percent removal 6, TSS percent removal 5, pH 3, others fewer)Regulator compliance tally from self-monitoring reportsNorth Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board●2012-2018[3]
Effluent limitation violations subject to mandatory minimum penalties, 2019 permit term149 violations, February 12 2020 - June 30 2025, resolved by a US$447,000 stipulated penalty adopted November 12, 2025; the violation exhibit lists total cyanide as the most frequent parameter, with TCDD-equivalents, BOD (including a 310 mg/L weekly average in April 2025), settleable solids, chlorine residual and copperRegulator enforcement record from self-monitoring reports, violation-level exhibit publishedNorth Coast Regional Water Quality Control Board●2020-2025[4]
Influent flow versus design capacity1.4 mgd median (1.80 mgd average) against a 2.3 mgd average dry weather design flow · baseline 2.3 (design ADWF) (design)Discharger monitoring data cited in the stipulated orderCity self-monitoring, cited by the Regional Water Board○not stated in the order[4]

● independently measured○ operator-reported· not stated in any source

COST BASIS

CAPITAL
USD 5,300,000 (1985)
OPERATING
not published
PER UNIT
78 USD per 1,000 gallons per day of design capacity, treatment-wetland construction only, 1985 dollars [1]
FUNDING
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5
  • 5 · 2400000
  • 3

The treatment wetlands alone are estimated at about US$225,000, or US$30,000 per acre, excluding effluent pumping, disinfection facilities and land, which was city-owned former lagoon cells at no cost [1]. The rejected regional plant was estimated at US$25 million, with Arcata's construction share put at about US$10 million by the then public works director; both figures are 2006 interview recollections, not contemporaneous documents [2]. Lifecycle renewal: Phase 1 of the 2020-2025 upgrade cost approximately US$67 million, with a construction contract of US$51,495,000.57 awarded to Wahlund Construction in August 2022, 84% complete in May 2025 and on track for completion in December 2025 [5]; the 2021 estimate had been US$64 million [8].

03

The assessment

PRECONDITIONS

  • Available low-cost land adjacent to the existing treatment site: the treatment wetlands reused city-owned former lagoon cells at no land cost with a gravity flow connection [1]
  • Clay soils that eliminated the need for liners and minimized earthwork [1]
  • A regulatory pathway: discharge to the bay required a State Water Board exemption under the enhancement clause of the Bays and Estuaries Policy, won through a fact-finding hearing (Order 79-20, 1979) and a Regional Water Board waiver (Resolution 83-9, 1983) [3]
  • A multi-year pilot demonstration accepted by the regulator before full-scale authorization (12 cells, 1979-1982) [1][3]
  • A university partnership for design, pilot research and monitoring [1][3]
  • Substantial area per unit of flow: about 39 days detention through ponds and wetlands at the 2.3 mgd average dry weather design flow [3]
  • Disinfection before the marshes because public access is allowed to the enhancement wetlands [1]
  • Habitat and recreation benefits deliberately built in: the wildlife sanctuary is the legal basis of the enhancement finding, not decoration [1][3]
  • Sustained community and council backing through a multi-year approval fight with the regional authority and state boards, 1974-1983 [2][3]

OPERATOR HINDSIGHT

Stated in the sources. The 1997 EPA site visit [1]: short-circuiting probably occurs in the treatment cells and could be corrected by replacing single-point inlet and outlet structures with perforated pipe manifolds across the full cell width; effluent TSS runs higher where outlets sit in open water zones; operating depth was raised from 2 ft to 4 ft to suppress undesirable plant species. The city's own upgrade program [3][5][6]: replace chlorine disinfection, whose byproduct dichlorobromomethane produced the largest single block of violations, with ultraviolet disinfection; reconfigure flow to a single path so all effluent receives marsh treatment before the bay and none is chlorinated twice; add a parallel oxidation ditch for year-round nitrification up to 5.9 mgd (Phase 2, on hold pending a long-range feasibility study of coastal hazards and siting); raise levees to flood standards. On the cyanide violations that dominate recent enforcement, the city's stated position is that exceedances arise from chemical interference during effluent sample handling, and it is funding a formal ASTM holding-time study to test that [4].

TRANSFERABILITY ASSESSMENT

CAPITAL INTENSITY1/2GOVERNANCE DEPENDENCY1/2ENVIRONMENTAL SPECIFICITY1/2SKILLS AND MAINTENANCE2/2FUNDING REPEATABILITY1/2POLITICAL DURABILITY2/2
AXISSCORERATIONALE
CAPITAL INTENSITY●○US$5.3 million construction (1985 dollars) carried by an 85% state/federal construction grant, and a US$67 million loan-financed renewal in 2020-2025: a capital program, not routine municipal spending [1][5].
GOVERNANCE DEPENDENCY●○Deployment required a state policy exemption under the existing enhancement clause of the Bays and Estuaries Policy, won through a fact-finding hearing (Order 79-20, 1979) and a Regional Water Board waiver (Resolution 83-9, 1983) [3].
ENVIRONMENTAL SPECIFICITY●○Needs tens of acres of low-cost land per few mgd (7.5 acres of treatment wetlands, about 31 acres of enhancement marshes and two ponds of 22.4 and 17.3 acres for a 2.3 mgd design flow); clay soils and gravity flow were documented site advantages [1][3].
SKILLS AND MAINTENANCE●●The 1997 EPA site visit found the entire system run by three operators five days per week, with wetland-specific work about 20 minutes per day of weir adjustment and observation [1].
FUNDING REPEATABILITY●○Operation is self-funded by a surcharge on user bills [1], but the 85% construction grant program that built it no longer exists, and lifecycle renewal required a US$67 million state-loan-financed capital project [5].
POLITICAL DURABILITY●●Operated continuously since 1986 across every change of council; after the 2017 Facilities Plan offered four options, the council chose the upgrade that retained the natural treatment system and committed US$67 million to it [1][5].

TOTAL 8/12 · T2

POLITICAL TEST

The system was born from a political fight and has survived every transition since. Between 1974 and 1979 the city refused the Humboldt Bay Wastewater Authority's US$25 million regional plant, formed a citizens' coalition and a task force, and challenged the state's enhancement requirement until it won an exemption pathway (Order 79-20, 1979; Resolution 83-9, 1983) [2][3]. The system has operated continuously since 1986 [1], through four decades of council and administration changes. The durability test with teeth came in 2012-2019: facing effluent violations and stricter standards, the regulator required treatment changes; the city's 2017 Facilities Plan developed four upgrade options, and after public meetings the council chose the option that retained the natural treatment systems, then executed a US$67 million Phase 1 rebuild through 2025 under a Time Schedule Order [3][5]. Enforcement penalties (US$10,880 in 2013 [3]; US$447,000 stipulated in 2025 [4]) produced investment in the system rather than abandonment of it.

04

The file

8 SOURCES

SOURCES

  1. [1] government_technical_manual · Manual: Constructed Wetlands Treatment of Municipal Wastewaters (EPA/625/R-99/010), section 8.1.1 Arcata, California · Donald S. Brown, James F. Kreissl, Robert A. Gearheart, Andrew P. Kruzic, William C. Boyle, Richard J. Otis, with major contributors including Sherwood C. Reed · US Environmental Protection Agency, National Risk Management Research Laboratory, Office of Research and Development, Cincinnati · 2000-09 · en · PRIMARY · INDEPENDENT · nepis.epa.gov Full 167-page PDF downloaded from EPA NEPIS and text-extracted; read the Arcata case study (section 8.1.1 with Tables 8-1 and 8-2), the cost data in Table 7-2, and the front matter. Cover states September 2000, inner title page September 1999. The case study is an edited 1997 EPA site-visit report; note that Gearheart, the system's designer, is among the manual's authors, so the compilation is EPA-published but not fully arms-length, and the long-term performance table derives from operator monitoring.
  2. [2] case_history · USA - California (Arcata) - Constructed Wetland: A Cost-Effective Alternative for Wastewater Treatment · Amanda Suutari · The EcoTipping Points Project · 2006-06 · en · INDEPENDENT · www.ecotippingpoints.org Full article fetched and read. Interview-based history drawing on Robert Gearheart, Dan Hauser, Frank Klopp and Julie Fulkerson. The US$25 million regional estimate, the US$10 million Arcata share, the US$5 million spent, and the US$500,000 versus US$1.5 million annual maintenance comparison are participant recollections recorded here, attributed mainly to Klopp; treated as recollection, not contemporaneous record.
  3. [3] regulatory_order · Waste Discharge Requirements Order No. R1-2019-0006, NPDES Permit No. CA0022713, City of Arcata Wastewater Treatment Facility, with Fact Sheet (Attachment F) · California Regional Water Quality Control Board, North Coast Region · 2019-10-17 · en · PRIMARY · INDEPENDENT · www.waterboards.ca.gov Full order PDF (about 240 pages) fetched and text-extracted; read the cover, adoption certification (adopted October 17, 2019; effective December 1, 2019 per [4] and [5]), Fact Sheet history and facility description, design flows, service population, Table F-2 monitoring data for August 2012 to January 2017, the compliance summary of 115 violations, and the two-phase upgrade description tied to Time Schedule Order R1-2019-0011.
  4. [4] regulatory_enforcement_order · Order R1-2025-0037, Settlement Agreement and Stipulation for Entry of Administrative Civil Liability Order, City of Arcata · California Regional Water Quality Control Board, North Coast Region · 2025-11-12 · en · PRIMARY · INDEPENDENT · www.waterboards.ca.gov Full 20-page stipulated order plus the violation-level Exhibit A fetched and text-extracted and read: 149 violations February 12, 2020 to June 30, 2025; US$447,000 total, US$150,810 payable, US$231,000 suspended for a waterline-replacement supplemental project, US$65,190 suspended for a cyanide holding-time compliance project; UV disinfection recorded online January 30, 2024. Also fetched and read the predecessor First Amended ACL Complaint R1-2023-0008-A (July 8, 2024, proposing US$393,000 for 131 violations), which this order resolves.
  5. [5] council_staff_report · Staff Report, City Council Meeting May 21, 2025: Approve an Amendment to the Contract for Phase 1 of the Arcata Wastewater Treatment Facilities Upgrade Project with Wahlund Construction, Inc. in the Amount of $750,000 · Netra Khatri (City Engineer) · City of Arcata · 2025-05-21 · en · PRIMARY · lostcoastoutpost.com Full staff report fetched via the Lost Coast Outpost agenda mirror and read: Phase 1 total approximately US$67 million (US$2.4 million CDBG, small Wastewater Fund portion, remainder Clean Water SRF); contract US$51,495,000.57 awarded August 2022; 84% complete; completion on track for December 2025; 2017 Facilities Plan with four options and the council's choice to retain the natural treatment systems.
  6. [6] operator_web_page · Wastewater Treatment Facilities Improvements Project · City of Arcata · accessed 2026-08-13 · en · PRIMARY · www.cityofarcata.org Fetched and read. Describes Phase 1 (9.8 MGD UV disinfection system purchased with CDBG funds, single-path flow reconfiguration, SCADA, levee raising, photovoltaics) and Phase 2 on hold pending a feasibility study of coastal hazards, siting and long-term capacity. No total project cost stated on the page; undated, so published_on left null.
  7. [7] operator_web_page · Wastewater (Environmental Services) · City of Arcata · accessed 2026-08-13 · en · PRIMARY · www.cityofarcata.org Fetched and read. Gives 55 acres of oxidation ponds, 154 acres of treatment marshes, 240 acres of the Arcata Marsh and Wildlife Sanctuary, 11 pump stations and over 60 miles of sewer; these acreages are not reconciled with the permit's figures and the discrepancy is recorded in confidence_notes. Undated, so published_on left null.
  8. [8] news_feature · Arcata rises to the challenge: innovative upgrades to award-winning wastewater treatment plant · Jill Oviatt · Western City Magazine (League of California Cities) · 2021-07-01 · en · INDEPENDENT · www.westerncity.com Fetched and read. Gives the 2021 project estimate of US$64 million, the 2020 start and 2025 scheduled completion, sanctuary extent of over 300 acres, and about 300 bird species. Published by the state league of cities, so adjacent to municipal government though independent of Arcata.

RECORD

VERIFIED 2026-08-13REVIEW DUE 2027-02-13
PUBLISHED
2026-08-13
LAST VERIFIED
REVIEW DUE
2027-02-13
RUBRIC
v1.0
STATUS HISTORY
  • · operating · Record published.
RIGHT OF REPLY
Not required under rubric v1.0 for an operating record. Because this record documents enforcement penalties against the operator, right of reply will be offered to the City of Arcata before the record is promoted or distributed, and any response received will be published here in full.
LANGUAGE
All sources are English-language publications of US federal, Californian state and municipal bodies, plus one interview-based case history and one trade magazine article.
CONFIDENCE
Solid: the US$5.3 million 1985 construction cost, the 85% grant share, the staged long-term BOD, TSS and TN averages, and the pilot and full-scale design details were read directly from the EPA manual [1]; design flows, service population (18,695), the 2012-2017 monitoring table, the 115-violation tally and the regulatory history 1974-1983 from the 2019 permit [3]; the 149-violation record, US$447,000 settlement and UV activation date from the 2025 stipulated order [4]; the US$67 million Phase 1 cost and construction status from the city staff report [5]. Thin or judgment-based: (a) outcome_status. The system is operating and delivering measured results, but it carries 149 effluent violations for 2020-2025 and a US$447,000 penalty; most listed violations are against microgram-level cyanide and picogram-level TCDD-equivalents limits introduced by stricter standards, the city attributes the cyanide results to sampling interference and is testing that under a regulator-approved study [4], and the disinfection-byproduct driver was removed with chlorine in January 2024 [4][6]; degraded was considered and rejected on this evidence, and the choice is a judgment. (b) The rejected-alternative economics (US$25 million regional estimate, US$10 million Arcata share, US$500,000 versus US$1.5 million annual maintenance) are 2006 interview recollections by participants [2], not contemporaneous documents; no primary 1970s cost document was fetched. (c) The long-term performance table in [1] states no measurement period and rests on operator monitoring. (d) Acreage figures disagree across sources: ponds 22.4 plus 17.3 acres and six treatment wetlands in the 2019 permit [3]; three treatment cells totalling 7.5 acres and 31 acres of enhancement marshes (28 acres in the same document's lessons-learned section, with 9 versus 11 days retention) in [1]; 55 acres of ponds, 154 acres of marshes and a 240-acre sanctuary on the city page [7]; over 300 acres in [8]. These appear to draw different boundaries and eras; none were reconciled. (e) No current annual operating cost is published; operating_annual is null. (f) Pilot dates differ: 1979-1982 [1], begun September 1979 [2], described as funded in 1981 [3]. (g) The 2019 permit's adoption date also differs across documents: the enforcement complaint states adopted April 17, 2019, effective June 1, 2019, while the order's own certification says adopted October 17, 2019 and [4][5] give effective December 1, 2019; the certification is used. (h) The 2012-2017 monitoring table publishes worst-case values only, so typical permit-term performance is not shown. (i) No effluent measurement campaign independent of the operator or designers was found; the evidence grade is E3 for that reason. No figures were estimated or interpolated by the registry; all nulls reflect absence in sources.

CITE THIS RECORD

change4planet.org. C4P-WTR-0002: Municipal wastewater treatment through oxidation ponds and constructed wetlands (Arcata Marsh), California: four decades of operation at council scale. Grades T2/E3 (rubric v1.0). Last verified 2026-08-13. https://change4planet.org/records/c4p-wtr-0002-arcata-marsh-usa

change4planet is a working record of environmental interventions that have actually been deployed: what they cost, what they achieved, what went wrong, and where else they could work.

Records are working documents. Check the verification date before citing.